Michigan Football Awards: What happened and winners of each award


ANN ARBOR — Michigan football hosted its first-ever Michigan Football Awards Sunday evening at the Crisler Center.

During the two-hour awards show, the University honored its football team’s 2018 season with over 20 awards given out.

Here’s the winner of each award.

Award Winners

Highest GPA

Nominees: Senior linebacker Noah Furbush, junior guard Ben Bredeson, junior offensive lineman Stephen Spanellis

Winner: Stephen Spanellis

Nico Collins catches a touchdown against Ohio State. (Photo: Andy Shippy)

Most Improved Player

Offense: Sophomore wide receiver Nico Collins

Defense: Junior defensive tackle Carlo Kemp

Special Teams: Tyler Cochran

Bob Ufer Award (Most Spirited Senior)

Nominees: Senior wide receiver Grant Perry, senior safety Tyree Kinnel, senior fullback Jared Wangler

Winner: Jared Wangler

      Michigan linebackers Devin Bush (left) and Josh Uche (right) (Photo: Andy Shippy)

Roger Zatkoff Award (Most Outstanding Linebacker)

Nominees: Junior LB Devin Gil, sophomore LB Josh Ross, junior linebacker Devin Bush

Winner: Devin Bush

Richard Katcher Award (Most Outstanding Defensive Linemen/Outside Linebacker)

Nominees: Junior DE Rashan Gary, junior linebacker Josh Uche, senior defensive end Chase Winovich, defensive tackle Bryan Mone

Winner: Chase Winovich

Hugh H. Rader Award (Most Outstanding Offensive Linemen)

Nominees: Bredeson, senior tackle Juwann Bushell-Beatty, sophomore center Cesar Ruiz, senior tackle Jon Runyan, junior guard Michael Onwenu

Winner: Jon Runyan (Runyan’s father won the award 20 years ago, first father-son combination to win the award.)

(Photo: Andy Shippy)

Toughest Player Award

Nominees: Sophomore fullback Ben Mason, junior linebacker Devin Bush, junior guard Ben Bredeson

Winner: Ben Bredeson

Blue Collar Award

Nominees: Senior defensive end Chase Winovich, sophomore linebacker Josh Ross, junior running back Tru Wilson

Winner: Josh Ross

Offensive Skill Player of the Year Award

Winner: Donovan Peoples-Jones

                                                      David Long (Andy Shippy)

Defensive Skill Player of the Year Award

Nominees: Junior cornerback Lavert Hill, senior safety Tyree Kinnel, junior cornerback David Long, junior safety Josh Metellus, senior cornerback Brandon Watson

Winner: David Long

Rookie of the Year Award 

Offense: Wide receiver Ronnie Bell

Defense: Defensive end Aidan Hutchinson

Special teams: Kicker Jake Moody

Special Teams Player of the Year Award

Nominees: Junior punter Will Hart, fullback Ben Mason, wide receiver Donovan Peoples-Jones, senior running back Joe Hewlett

Winner: Joe Hewlett

Shea Patterson was Michigan’s Offensive Player of the Year. (Photo: Andy Shippy)

Offensive Player of the Year

Nominees: Redshirt junior tight end Zach Gentry, senior running back Karan Higdon, junior tight end Sean McKeon, junior quarterback Shea Patterson, wide receiver Donovan Peoples-Jones

Winner: Shea Patterson

Defensive Player of the Year

Nominees: Junior linebacker Devin Bush, senior defensive end Chase Winovich

Winner: Devin Bush

Coach of the Year

Winner: Defensive coordinator Don Brown

Employee of the Year

Winner: Strength & Conditioning coach Ben Herbert

Bo Schembechler Most Valuable Player

Nominees: Linebacker Devin Bush, running back Karan Higdon, quarterback Shea Patterson, wide receiver Donovan Peoples-Jones, defensive end Chase Winovich

Winner: Chase Winovich


  Comments: 3

  1. First ever, yet father son have won awards?????